Life is the last rank that a scout achieves before Eagle – Once you achieve Life scout, the highest rank in scouting is within your reach. You have been in the troop for a number of years, moving from being led by scouts older and more experienced than you are to being one of those older, more experienced scouts, and leading others. Once you have developed your leadership skills by achieving Star and Life, you will have the chance to put those skills to the test on your trail to Eagle, coordinating an Eagle Scout project or becoming Senior Patrol Leader, while working on more Eagle required merit badges to develop yourself into a mature adult.

Troop 1 interprets the service requirement (requirement 4) as the following:

A Scout must perform 6 hours of service to others. This may be done as an individual project or as a member of a patrol or troop project. Service projects may be approved for Scouts assisting on Eagle service projects. The Scoutmaster approves the project before it is started.


Requirements for Life:

1 Be active in your unit (and patrol if you are in one) for at least 6 months as a Star Scout.
2 Demonstrate scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise) and Scout Law in your everyday life.
3 Earn 5 more merit badges (so that you have 11 in all), including any 3 more from the required list for Eagle.*
4 While a Star Scout, take part in service project(s) totaling at least 6 hours of work. These projects must be approved by your Scoutmaster.
5 While a Star Scout, serve actively in your unit for 6 months in one or more positions of responsibility (or carry out a unit-leader-assigned leadership project to help your unit).
6 While a Star Scout, use the EDGE method to teach another Scout (preferably younger than you) the skills from ONE of the following seven choices, so that he is prepared to pass those requirements to his unit leader's satisfaction.
  1. Second Class - 7a and 7c (first aid)
  2. Second Class - 1a (outdoor skills)
  3. Second Class - 3c, 3d, 3e, and 3f (cooking/camping)
  4. First Class - 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d (first aid)
  5. First Class - 1, 7a, and 7c (outdoor skills)
  6. First Class - 4a, 4b, and 4d (cooking/camping)
  7. Three requirements from one of the Eagle-required merit badges, as approved by your unit leader.
7 Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
8 Complete your board of review.
*Choose any of the 17 required merit badges in the 13 categories to fulfill requirement 3.